Fish Mirror

10 Dec

Staring at my bulletin board, seeking a distraction from writing yet another cover letter. What do I discover? Myself, reflected in a tiny fish mirror purchased as a souvenir from Mexico years ago. And this leads to thoughts of where I’ve been in life, where I’m going. These thoughts hold a greater value than the repetitive words typed into a cover letter for a job that I don’t really want, and ultimately do not get. Failure and struggle can lead to growth and discovery. Failure and struggle can lead to growth and discovery. Failure and struggle can lead to growth and discovery.

Submitted by Emilia Biavaschi

Artist´s Statement:

Often, in an attempt to distract myself by looking outward, I find myself instead looking inward. A distraction of a different sort. An interruption from the overwhelming outside world by introspection. And though inward looking can also overwhelm, the benefits of self-discovery lead to growth and understanding, at least that’s the hope.

Thus accidental self-portraits abound in my collection of photos.

3 Responses to “Fish Mirror”

  1. self-captured December 10, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    This is so perfect. Thank you so much.

    Maga

  2. cudnovati December 10, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    this is beautiful. quite deep, the everyday of our lives.

  3. sarah rose December 10, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Emilia, I love that you are the first one of my friends outside of this project to submit an entry, and I think this photo, you, and your introspection are beautiful. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

